TWCL Forum Index TWCL
Forums for The Webcomic List

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Would like to start a webcomic review blog, tips on starting

View previous topic :: View next topic  
james113

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:24 am    Post subject: Would like to start a webcomic review blog, tips on starting Reply with quote

Well I'm definitely not new to the whole website thing. I've been doing html, php, and mysql for 5 years now, it's just that the biggest success I ever had was a very small forum and a small webmanga website back about 3 years ago.

The most success I've had with keywords has been with reviews of new flash projects from newgrounds (in where I got almost all of my hits from one production). I'm thinking of trying to do webcomics as well.

I need all kinds of general tips on starting up the website. I'll be looking for comics that are in either the furry, adventure, or manga formats and have at least 50 or more pages complete. I'm wondering if that sounds about fair, or whether I should drop it to about 20 pages complete?

I also have all kinds of other questions about forming a community, etc... Any general tips would help as well on starting and maintaining a review site. =)

Thanks once again for your time, twl community.
hitmen

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think 50 pages is fair.
Some adventure comics:
Mine (click sig)
Order of the Stick: http://www.giantitp.com/comics/oots0001.html
Skin Horse: http://www.webcomicsnation.com/shaenongarrity/skinhorse/series.php
The Bomb-diggity

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds fair.