TWCL Forum Index TWCL
Forums for The Webcomic List

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New Webcomics Question
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Matt_SFC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:05 am    Post subject: New Webcomics Question Reply with quote

I know a lot of you may not want to answer so don't feel obligated if you wish to keep your secret.

However if you'd be willing to answer, as a new webcomic author I'd like to ask:

What's the best piece of advice you've gotten in regards to your webcomc? Either in regards to it's creation or promotion.

http://twitter/straightfacing
Metruis
Postpostpostpostpost!

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was emoing at a friend on DeviantArt who was a much better artist than me when I was about 13 pages into my comic on ComicGenesis. So I consider this to be really one of the most critically important pieces of advice I ever got.

Quote:
It's important that the art is fun, after all! If you hate it, and hate doing it, that's enough reason to change and move on.

(stuff cut from here as it was a long post)

Oh, and as for the painting over the pencils... why not try it? It might be fun!

So, no mad crazy secrets here. Just a simple piece of advice: your first priority is to have fun with it.

The post encouraged me to try paint a page without lineart and... the rest is history. The only notable thing about my comic is the unique art style that I never would have tried without her advice. Cool

I have never received any advice on promotion personally, but I found blogs like Floating Lightbulb and Winged Wolf Studio (Kez's) to be useful with their posts on advertising and whatnot. My most helpful link for that was a webcomic promotion advice article that's unfortunately on a site that crashed. =(