TWCL Forum Index TWCL
Forums for The Webcomic List

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Scripting?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ArgenVert

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:44 am    Post subject: Scripting? Reply with quote

I know this is going to sound like such a newbie question, but how do you guys script your webcomics?

I've heard the term tossed around a ton, but I've never "scripted" out a comic. I've never written out a comic before drawing it. I've always just got an image or vague plot in my head, and then made it up as I drew the comic.

So, my question is how do you guys actually script out a comic?

Last edited by ArgenVert on Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:22 am; edited 1 time in total
Lavenderbard
^_^

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if I'm the person to go by, but I write out a script that looks like a play script -- dialog with a few stage directions. That gives me an idea of where the story is going, and what sort of dialog bubbles I'm looking at. Then I draw up the storyboards using that as my guide.

I have a pretty good idea of what the story is, and the scenes I want already before I start scripting, but I find that writing them down in script form makes me pay more attention to details and flow and pacing and that kind of stuff, than I do when I'm watching 'in-my-head theater'.

Personally I don't worry about paneling when I script, I worry about that in the storyboard stage -- that's what its for. Smile

Location: Fairview, Capitol City of Rimminion next to the diner and while things go on around us.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strip #20
Pl-1 Tyler: What is it that you want Solomeade?
Solo: I want to know why you are here.
Pl-2 Tyler: When is here?