TWCL Forum Index TWCL
Forums for The Webcomic List

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Would there be interest in a Comic-oriented WordPress theme?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
coolsage

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:10 am    Post subject: Would there be interest in a Comic-oriented WordPress theme? Reply with quote

Hello all,

I've been on TWCL for a long time now; I'm quite the adamant follower of webcomics (though these days not as much as I used to be), but I've never actually made a post in the forums until now.

Anyway, let me introduce myself: I'm a web developer with a particular interest/specialization in WordPress. If you guys don't mind, I'm looking for some input on a project idea, and I hope I'm in the right spot.

I'm in the planning stages for a new WordPress theme that is specifically aimed at publishing webcomics. Ideally, I'd like the end-user to just have to install WordPress, install the theme, upload a comic, and relax. No futzing with code, FTP, or any of that stuff.

My "wish list" for features include the following:

*Fully responsive layout which optimized for both desktop and mobile
    *Easy retina support so comics look great on both regular-res and high-density screens
    *"Comic staging": If you publish every Monday, for example, you can upload a finished comic on Saturday (for example) and let the theme take care of your publishing schedule
    *Multiple layout options for many different comic styles (Three-panel strips, full-page comics, manga-style, etc.)
    *Intuitive archive pages
    *Super customizable appearance (with options panels, but if you *do* know CSS, there'll be an option for that too)

Is this something that you guys, as webcomic enthusiasts, would be interested in?